Truth in Sadness

The tears don’t fall but I still feel sad,
I know that’s the way it must be.
In my case sorrow cannot be stopped,
I need to be honest with me.

The never-ending ache in my heart
has now become my closest friend.
The cloak of sadness fits my shoulders
to wear every day ‘til the end.

The cloak is not a burden so far
not heavy or awkward to bear;
it’s made of thread from my memories
it is precious, priceless and rare.

If a day should come where my sorrow
robs my loved ones of my presence
I must set aside my cloak that day
as not to offend his essence.

He never ignored family or friend.
He always offered up his hand,
to be there for those loved ones in need
his ripples I vow to expand.

So sorrow does not dishonor him
so long as it does not cause strife.
There is nothing wrong with feeling sad
when you recall his well-lived life.

About garbear25

I'm a sad dad.
This entry was posted in Poem. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Truth in Sadness

  1. Paula says:

    Gary I love this one. You showed your feeling and also honored Kevin. I don’t know what else to say except that you really are an exceptional writer. Love you Paula

  2. ladynimue says:

    so as not to offend his presence …

    this set me thinking … good one !

  3. Jingle says:

    love it,

    truth is spoken,
    no shame for feeling upset or sad.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

