A Dogs Life

Sometimes you find comfort in strange places.

It was suggested to me shortly after Kevin’s death that someday I would come to understand the “why” of it. I still reject that idea. I don’t believe I’ll find any meaning in this event. It was a random tragedy. Bad things happen to good people every day, all you need do to prove this is open any newspaper.

Today I read something that made me think for a moment and brought a tear to my eye.

A six year old boy was commenting on the death of his beloved pet dog that was nearly twice as old as he was. His parents and the vet were explaining that dogs live shorter lives than humans.

“I know why.” he remarked.

He said, “People are born so that they can learn how to live a good life – like loving everybody all the time and being nice, right?”

The six-year-old continued, “Well, dogs already know how to do that, so they don’t have to stay as long.”

I think that deep down Kev did learn this lesson.

I still want him back here with us and I still don’t feel he was supposed to go but maybe his learning in this plane was done.

I won’t say where I read this, but Kev knows and he’s having a chuckle over it right now.

About garbear25

I'm a sad dad.
This entry was posted in Searching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

