Affirmations

I’m feeling down today, and I can’t say why. I’m trying to remind myself of all I have that makes it worth getting up in the morning.

Live for today is almost a cliché in the self help world, but sometimes conventional wisdom is right. I will appreciate what I have right now. I can’t ignore the future but neither can I chase a better tomorrow to the detriment of today. Tomorrow is not guaranteed, but if it’s coming, it will get here right on-time.

I have life. First and foremost I have life and where there is life there is hope. I have a unique mind and personality. I have skills. I have talents. I have insight and a point of view that is all my own.

I have memories. Wonderful memories that no on can ever take away and painful memories of experiences I wish I’d never had. All of these, the good and the bad, are part to the sum total that makes up the person I am at this moment.

I have knowledge and knowledge is never wasted, but I don’t know everything. I must always keep my mind open.

There may be some I’ll meet who would be inclined to take advantage of my good nature. I must keep my eyes open.

I have people who love me, and everyone I meet, indeed everyone there is, could potentially enter into this sphere. Love and compassion will beget love and compassion. Animosity and cynicism will come back in kind as well. Above all I must keep my heart open.

I am here, right now, today. It may be a bad day, but it’s today, and today is precious and I will experience it. Should I be here tomorrow it may be better and I’ll look forward to that experience as well.

About garbear25

I'm a sad dad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

