Seasons Pass

A warm autumn descends into winter
and the chill matches my mood.
As harsh a winter as we’ve ever had
feels right while I sit here and brood.

The winter chill holds on late into spring
fighting to release its hold.
I resist the warm and growing season
no heat for my soul is cold

The summer comes upon me unaware
suddenly sun on my back.
For a time my dire mood is lifted
but fall is right on its track.

The days grow short and my hurt increases
Thoughts of autumn freeze my heart
As it was a warm October day last year
When my world was torn apart

About garbear25

I'm a sad dad.
This entry was posted in Poem. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seasons Pass

  1. Kathy says:

    Hi, you don’t know me but I was the college roommate of a friend of your son’s. About a month ago my best friend and off and on boyfriend for many years passed away. His name was also Kevin. I decided to blog as a way to cope and to get my feelings out. My friend Sarah suggested I look at your blog. At the time, feeling like no one understood… and I still feel that way often, reading your blog showed me that someone else could relate in some way to what I am feeling. A lot of your posts have given me comfort and have put words to feelings I could not express. I just wanted to thank you for putting yourself out there and sharing.

    • garbear25 says:

      Thank you.

      As my grief journey has progressed I’ve been trying to think of ways to memorialize my Kevin and this blog, while personal in many ways, is part of that. If your roommate knew Kev I’m sure she knew how he was always there with a sympathetic ear and a shoulder to cry on. If my words have helped you, even if only a little, it’s the best memorial to Kevin I can create.

  2. Kathy says:

    Your words have helped a lot. I actually stopped in and saw the parents of my friend who passed away and I think they as grieving parents, they may relate to a lot of your posts so I am going to share your blog with them as well and maybe it will help through a tough time.

Leave a Reply

