Taking Care of Yourself

All the books, the Compassionate Friends, the therapists and pretty much every other well meaning adviser have all said the same thing. As you are dealing with this grief, take care of yourself, eat right and exercise.

Yeah right.

I started out not eating anything at all, and then pretty much eating all the crap I felt like and exercise has been all but nonexistent. The end result is I’ve put on about 20 pounds since Kevin died. The problem is I was already pretty overweight at the time of his death and I’m now heavier than I’ve ever been and I feel like I’ve aged about 20 years.

So I’m going to try and get my act together.

Summer is over, so all the excuses are gone. No more cookouts or vacations or birthdays.

I don’t know how successful I’ll be. I’ve fought a mostly losing battle with my weight since I was eighteen, but at my age it’s really going to start causing health problems if I don’t get it under control.

I’ve been learning to take things one day at a time. So today I won’t eat anything that’s bad for me, tomorrow I’ll get up and see if I can do the same.

I owe it to the people who love me not to put my health and my future in jeopardy.

About garbear25

I'm a sad dad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

