A Song – Maybe

A couple of months ago I started writing a poem, but it started to feel more like song lyrics than a written or spoken word piece, so I figured out a chorus and wrote it down.  The problem is I don’t know the first thing about music or how to fit melody and words together.

Rather than just letting it sit there I thought I might post it here and see if anyone who reads this either has talent in this area or knows someone who has that skill.

I imagine 3 separate people singing the verses.  The first is a sibling, the second a close friend and the third a parent.

Sibling:
I need you here beside me
To set me on my path
I need your strength and guidance
You always made me laugh
You were supposed to do it first
So I could learn from you
I don’t want to blaze the trail
But now I must push through

Why did you have to go so soon
Why did you burn so bright
It’s just too dark without you
We really need your light

Friend:
How do we go on now
Without your smiling face
What shoulder will I cry on
That was always your place
You were the glue that held us
You were the warmest heart
No one can ever take you place
No one can play your part

Why did you have to go so soon
Why did you burn so bright
It’s just too dark without you
We really need your light

Parent:
I’ll never see you marry
I’ll never hold your son
You won’t be there to mourn us
and comfort the living one
I’ll never see what you become
couldn’t save you from your fate
I’m sorry for what’s unsaid and done
But now it’s just too late.

Why did you have to go so soon
Why did you burn so bright
It’s just too dark without you
We really need your light

About garbear25

I'm a sad dad.
This entry was posted in Grief, Poem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

