The Roller Coaster

The following quotation is from the movie “Parenthood” courtesy of IMDB.com

[Gil has been complaining about his complicated life; Grandma wanders into the room]
Grandma: You know, when I was nineteen, Grandpa took me on a roller coaster.
Gil: Oh?
Grandma: Up, down, up, down. Oh, what a ride!
Gil: What a great story.
Grandma: I always wanted to go again. You know, it was just so interesting to me that a ride could make me so frightened, so scared, so sick, so excited, and so thrilled all together! Some didn’t like it. They went on the merry-go-round. That just goes around. Nothing. I like the roller coaster. You get more out of it.

I certainly understand what Grandma was getting at here.  A life with no challenges is somewhat wasted.  The challenges and what we chose to do with them are in some ways the point of this here little amusement park.

Of course the flip side is when you ride the roller coaster too long you start to get sick.

I think in some ways that’s what’s happened to me over the last five years or so.  I’ve been stuck on the roller coaster, every time the train pulls into the station it doesn’t stop, it just rolls through and I start up the climb again.  It’s not longer thrilling.  I’ve been dulled by it, numbed.

About five years ago Lisa’s father started to become ill.  At the same time my companies operating situation started to deteriorate and become a problem.

Since then Butch passed away, Petey grew frail, then ill and passed away suddenly.  The economy went south in 2008, which had a direct effect on my job and my life.  I won’t bore you with the details, but all this contributed to a wild, scary ride.

Then in the fall of 2010 the unthinkable, the track broke, the train crashed.

Even then I wasn’t allowed off the ride.

I’m tired of the roller coaster.  I need to step off and sit on a bench for a little while to settle my stomach.  I don’t really need to go on the merry-go-round.  But something a little less intense would be a nice change.  I’m thinking the log ride or maybe the river rapids.

About garbear25

I'm a sad dad.
This entry was posted in Grief, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

