Happy 25th Birthday

So many changes, yet so much remains the same.

I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately, or I guess I should say even more than usual. It’s been a really crazy, eventful year, and at each milestone I keep looking around, hoping to see you.

We did the fundraiser back in March. It was really successful and a real tribute to you. Hundreds of people came out and almost all of them were there for you. They spent the night telling stories and remembering and toasting and just trying to share some love to honor you. It was humbling to see so many people you so touched in one place.

After that we went into senior graduation mode. There was finishing up classes, the last day of school, the Prom, Senior Week, all leading up to graduation. I was a lot more emotional that day than I thought I would be. I kept thinking back to 2008, and noticing the missing piece of our family. I did get a little angry with you that day I confess. You should have been there.

Then it was getting ready for college, Kata graduating from middle school and preparing to go to DHS (is she still 6 years old to you?). She is a freshman now; keep an eye on her OK. I took her to the Soccer game last night at the stadium. She sat with the rest of the students and cheered and chanted, like old times. Were you looking down on us?

We dropped Drew off at college a few weeks ago. I kept thinking how much you would have loved Burlington, well, maybe not in the winter, but when it’s warmer out for sure.

I have wanted to write for a while. With work on top of everything else I haven’t been able to find time to think, let alone to compose. I will be traveling tomorrow; we are heading up to Burlington so we can all go out for your birthday dinner, so I doubt I will be able to take care of this tomorrow or Monday. Better a day or two early than a day late, right.

I guess the truth is it’s getting to be that time of year again. When the weather cools and the days shorten I start to have those feelings. I suspect that’s never going to change. I just have to get used to it.

Everyone misses you, and no one can ever forget. See you “someday”.

About garbear25

I'm a sad dad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

